Week 3 – Generating Healing Energy

Side Note: Every day I have a new epiphany while reading something out of the Master Keys. Cool. When I want to access that epiphany later to blog about it my mind shuts the door and locks the key. Nothing. Nope. Nada. I clam up like a class of 5th graders in inquisition.

Thought: I remember that the first step of any endeavor is to get out of our own way (or my own head) and Just Do It, and do it NOW. OK. Bear with me as I bare my thoughts.

One of the notes I wrote while re-writing my Dharma (Definite Main Purpose) is to allow it to be what it needs to be. It only needs to be right for me. That epiphany was freeing. It allowed my thoughts to flow freely without judgement or having to get it “right”. After re-writing my Dharma, reading it this week has brought more clarity and purpose to my day.

My favorite read for the week comes from the Master Keys Part Three as it describes the Solar Plexus and the way it is controlled automatically through the Sympathetic Nervous System (our unconscious or involuntary system). Of course that makes sense. We don’t need to think about it…unless we want to change the programming. That requires voluntary action from the cerebro-spinal system, or our conscious awareness.

As a yoga instructor I teach and observe students and how they move and transition through the physical asana practice. There is an unconscious pattern (either skillful or unskillful) that invariably emerges in each student as we move through class. For instance, if a student’s shoulders are hunched forward in Tadasana they will also follow a similar pattern when we add a twist or raise the arms overhead. This can create a muscle memory in the body that over time results in injury. Unless the basic alignment is consciously attuned, bad habits and possible harmful effects will follow. What we radiate outward from the Solar Plexus is no different…”the quality of the thought which we entertain determines the quality of the thought which this sun will radiate, and the character of the thought which our conscious mind entertains will determine the character of the thought which this sun will radiate…and consequently will determine the nature of the experience which will result.” (MK 3:12) Change the mind. Change the habit.

Just as the skillful yogi monitors the alignment of the body to create strength and healing, so do we monitor our thoughts to create a life we love. It is our habitual movement that creates either true health or illness. It is our habitual thoughts (or autonomic thoughts) that are the source of our energy and power. Practice, practice, practice. And thus, I will continue in my pursuit of losing control of what is outside of me and rather, focus mainly on control of the cerebro-spinal system (my daily thoughts).

Week four? Bring it!

5 thoughts on “Week 3 – Generating Healing Energy

  1. Linda, I often think so fondly of your introducing me to yoga and the Solar Plexus thru that medium…Week 3 is one of my FAV Master Key week reads (actually I can find a FAV in all of them) I love your epiphany of just letting go with your DMP writing…I’ve been struggling to add something in that I want…but I’m not sure just how…Thank you for sharing this with us!
    Namaste!

    Like

  2. I love your “it only needs to be right for me” epiphany. It has certainly been a challenge for me at times to let go of old notions of what goals/dreams are worthy to pursue. It is sometimes hard to distinguish the river of other peoples dreams from our own thoughts of what is right for us as individuals. Kudos for getting there !

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Week 3 – Yoga Connection | Carolynn's Master Key

Leave a Reply

