Week 8 – Breaking the Addiction

Part Eight of the Master Keys talks about imagination. If you can imagine it you can achieve it. Just as every physical object in the world was imagined first and then later manifested, so too is every experience in life first imagined and then manifested. Sometimes we are a part of someone else’s vision coming true but more often than not our life is a direct result of the constructive or destructive thoughts we have given our daily attention to.

In 8.5 of the master keys it states, “If your thought has been critical or destructive, and has resulted in any condition of discord or in-harmony in your environment, it may be necessary for you to cultivate a mental attitude which will be conducive to constructive thought.”

I’ve been working on this mental attitude for 8 weeks now. This week when I started the mental diet of not entertaining a negative thought I found it perfectly difficult. This is the week my husband decided to vent about what wasn’t right in the world and how I had contributed to the lack he was feeling. Immediately my defenses went up and I wanted to put on the boxing gloves. How dare he! I felt so disempowered. It is moments like this when my ego says, “to heck with all this trying to better myself, if the people around me would just quit being selfish, mean, thoughtless, etc…I could easily master the mental diet.”self-discipline

Immediately, my mind pops up with “Give more of what you want to get more of what you need.” Hmmm…what do I need? I need my spouse to show kindness, compassion, consideration, and validation. OK…time to pull up my big girl pants and BE HUMBLE. If I’m not getting what I need then the law says that I can give what I need. Hard? YES! Stated in 8.18 of the Master Keys…

“The law of attraction will certainly and unerringly bring to you the conditions, environment, and experiences in life, corresponding with your habitual, characteristic, predominant mental attitude. Not what you think once in a while when you are in church, or have just read a good book, BUT your predominant mental attitude is what counts.”

In other words, I get to BE the person that I want to SEE in others. This doesn’t mean that I am a door mat for bad behavior from others…what it does mean is that I can show compassion when my spouse is hangry (that’s a made up word for angry due to hunger) and has had little sleep, working long hours, and in a state of disharmony. I can accept where he is and maintain my ground and choose in the moment to table the discussion until we can reframe our state of mind. I can resist the temptation to go into the old mental habit of creating more discord.

MY CHOICE!

“I can be what I will to be.” I choose harmony.

2 thoughts on “Week 8 – Breaking the Addiction

  1. Great insights, Linda! As MKMMA explained, we are addicted to peptides. It’s comforting and liberating to know that The Law of Substitution and The Law of Dual Thought enables us to choose which “flavor” of peptides we’re addicted to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

