Week 10 – Be The Change…persistence beats resistance

I’m feeling this week a lot of resistance to the changes I am making. All the resistance, however, is coming from me. My head saying, “this is too much effort, too much time, too much this, too little that.” My old blueprint is trying to push out the new blueprint.

Is this normal?persistance

To be the change we wish to see in the world is an inside job. It is fought and won through our own persistent effort.

I’ve been reading The Greatest Salesman in the World  Chapter 10 (scroll III) this week. One of the paragraphs that stood out for me was this…

“I was not delivered unto this world in defeat, nor does failure course in my veins. I am not a sheep waiting to be prodded by my shepherd. I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk, to sleep with the sheep. I will hear not those who weep and complain, for their disease is contagious. Let them join the sheep. The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny.”

Hmmm…could this be what true leadership is about? Someone who refuses to weep and complain about life but who stands up and takes the bull by the horns and persists to bring about change regardless of the resistance encountered?

I recently listened to/watched a speech by Marianne Williamson on Democracy and Politics. In it (11:30) she explicates on change as it pertains to Americans…

“We never move forward as a nation because the status quo wakes up one day and says, “Oh let’s do it different.” The majority didn’t wake up one day and say – oh let’s free the slaves. The majority didn’t wake up one day and say – I think we should give women the right to vote…Social change does not occur because the status quo decides to change it. The status quo is happy with the way things are.”

We do not wake up one day and suddenly awaken to our potential. It takes persistent effort (and lots of practice). Leaders are persistent. They do not go along with the status quo. They align with their inner compass (spirit) and lead from the heart with God as their Guide. With conviction I can press on in the face of opposition. I think this is what it takes to affect real change in myself. Be persistent even when it means that your friends and family are doing something different or telling you that you are nuts for believing in your dreams. The sheep, the status quo, are happy with the way things are; happy with being in confined space where everything is known, controlled, weighed and measured with known outcomes.

In order to move into our greatest potential, it takes real determination, persistent effort towards our idealism, a purpose and plan of action, and above all faith in the vision we hold for ourselves. This requires me to pick myself up, to stop complaining and to do something about my destiny.

Even the tiniest move towards success…like completing the persistance2sm
all chore of cleaning out the file cabinet when I say I will…is progress towards leadership. When I honestly keep my promises to myself I am empowering myself to honestly keep my promises to others.

When I can lead myself consistently I can lead others. That is how change is made.

One thought on “Week 10 – Be The Change…persistence beats resistance

  1. Amazing! I feel what you write. It speaks directly to me when you say that despite family and friends thinking we are nuts we will persist. We have lived most of our lives in someone else’s dream of who we are, we owe ourselves to continue to fight for our greatest version to be the new watchman.

    We are now learning how to apply practical ways to defend until we are no longer bothered by the thoughts of others. Instead they want us to tell them how do you ignore all of the negativity, you say with love, they ask how do you keep going through all of the turmoil and chaos, you say, I persist because I now know the truth. They say what is it, then you teach from a knowledgeable place.
    I love it! Your awesome! Much Love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

