Week 12 –What Am I Holding Tight To?

“Oho!” said the pot to the kettle;BCLM-Pot_Kettle_Black2
“You are dirty and ugly and black!
Sure no one would think you were metal,

Except when you’re given a crack.”

“Not so! not so!” kettle said to the pot;
“‘Tis your own dirty image you see;
For I am so clean – without blemish or blot –
That your blackness is mirrored in me. ~Anonymous

This past week Davene told a story of the Bear Hugs Kettle. The story takes place in a camp while folks are boiling water in a kettle over the fire. About this time a hungry bear smelling dinner walks into a camp. He meanders around for a bit of time. The kettle over the fire starts boiling and startles the bear. Not knowing what it is, the bear in defense picks up the hot kettle and hugs it. Of course the kettle is scorching hot and burns the bear. The bear in his frightened state hugs the kettle tighter and is burned more but still he holds tighter…until the poor chap dies from the burns.

This is not unlike the burns we suffer in our lives. The setbacks, the miscommunication, resentments, should’a, would’a, could’as, and mishaps that we all have to complain about. The moral of the story is that if we are enmeshed in the resentments in our life, we cannot move forward with our dreams. It is impossible to be thinking about manifesting our dreams while we have one foot in resentment.

This really hit home for me. A few years ago I had an experience with a business partner that left me feeling unappreciated, deeply hurt, resentful, and a little bit bitter to be honest. It was like going through a divorce and not knowing the reason for the dismantling of the relationship. The pain from this event left me in bed for weeks unable to move forward. Everything I had worked so hard for was ripped out from under me in a matter of days. I didn’t know what to think, what to do, or how to move forward. For many months…and yes, even years, and sometimes still, I found my mind wandering to that place of bitterness and not wanting this x-business partner to succeed. This mode of thought leads me into deeper depression and misery.

The only peace I feel is when I let go. Let go of the hot kettle and release the hurt, anger, and pain to focus on what I have now. I forgive. I forgive myself for what I did and didn’t do in that business partnership that led to its demise. I forgive my biz partner for not vocalizing her views and seeing no other options but the one chosen. I let go to be free of the bitterness. In doing so I am able to learn the lesson and keep all the experience that business venture taught me. I can choose to be present here and now and move forward with my gifts and talents to shine a light in the world. By the same token, I can allow my biz partner the same freedom. In the words of Byron Katie I’m constantly moving towards “Loving What Is”.

When that little nagging negativity flares up I put out the fire with the Law of Substitution and send love and light to all ventures. When I hold tight to my own insecurities I create my own demise. Instead, I am choosing to look at what I have created on my own and how I am able to serve so many people in up leveling their health and wellness. Holding tight to my dreams and moving forward.chains free3

Master Keys part 12:4 says…

“The only way to keep from going backward is to keep going forward. Eternal vigilance is the price of success. There are three steps, and each one is absolutely essential. You must first have the knowledge of your power; second, the courage to dare; third, the faith to do.”

In the daily ritual of keeping my mind focused on the road ahead and sharply tuned to my dreams I find the courage, power, and faith to move forward and let the kettle go.

3 thoughts on “Week 12 –What Am I Holding Tight To?

Leave a Reply

