Week 16 – Ahhh The Virtues

“What you do today can improve all your tomorrows.” ~ Ralph Marston

I clapped my hands when the virtues were introduced in week 15. Our assignment: to study and focus on one virtue a week for the next 13 weeks! Yippee! Seriously I feel as giddy as a school girl. This is one of my favorite subjects.

There are over 600 virtues found in the collective religious and sacred traditions of the world – according to Dan Popov PH.D., co-founder of The Virtues Project™. Dan and his wife Linda Popov discovered that virtues are at the heart of meaning in every culture and belief system, from indigenous oral traditions to the world’s Sacred texts. How about that for unity!christian_virtue

This week our MKMMA group was to be in harmony in looking for kindness in everyday people.

Time to RAK ‘em up! (RAK = Random Acts of Kindness).

What’s so powerful about kindness is that the giver gets as much out of the RAK as the receiver…sometimes more!

How do we incorporate these heart centered characteristics into our everyday?

In the master keys master mind alliance the practice of incorporating these virtues is simply this: watch, look, listen, open up, observe, and NOTICE when you see the practice of these virtues in yourself and others. What I found is that when I focused on kindness, for instance, I started seeing it everywhere…the cashier, the lawn care person, the mail man, even my husband. As soon as I acknowledged the kind acts (however small they seemed) in my husband, I felt light-hearted and my husband was all the more eager to lavish another kind act for my enjoyment. A testament once again that what we put our attention on we get more of.

I’ve heard it said that we are able to see virtues in others because we possess those virtues in ourselves. Looking for and acknowledging these qualities in others serves merely to solidify that virtue in ourselves.

Why then do I sometimes default to finding fault? Habit? Cultural influence maybe…or negative bias…all guilty.

I’m enjoying practicing the opposite – to choose to see people in their beauty, in the light of Christ, Buddha Nature, or whatever else you want to call it. Truth is, the more we choose to see virtues in others the more we will develop and see those characteristics in ourselves. This is certain to improve our tomorrows.

Leave a Reply

